Maine Association of School Libraries


MASL's Current and Past Award Winners

Follow these links to see more extensive information about MASL's current recipients for each award.

MASL Administrator of the Year

Walter J Taranko Library Media Specialist of the Year

Or scroll down the current page to find a complete list of past winners for all three awards.



MASL's Honor Roll of Library Media Specialists of the Year


Year   Recipent School 


 Jane Anne Cooper

Asa Adams Elementary School


 Betty Pettis

Auburn Middle School


 None given (Special Awards)



 Ken Patton

Auburn Schools


 Jeff Small

University of Maine Presque Isle


 Shirley Helfrich



 None given (Special Awards)



 Jeanne Pernice

Winslow High School


 Janet Anderson

Mt. Ararat High School


 Jo Hipsher

Brunswick High School


 Diane Barth



 Jo Coyne & Linda Lord

 Medomak HS/Mt. View HS


 Deborah H. Davis

 Sedamocha/ Dover Foxcroft
 1992  Gail Garthwait  Asa Adams Elementary School
 1993  Thomas G. Peterson  Windham High School
 1994  Linda Hazzard  Belfast
 1995  Karen Guter  Yarmouth High School
 1996  Jodi Breau  Messalonskee High School
 1997  Susan Leiter  Connors Emerson Elementary School Bar Harbor
 1998  David Anderson  Thornton Academy
 1999  Toni Buzzeo  

 Award renamed Walter J Taranko LMS of the Year

 2000  Dr Tamara Blesh  Gardiner Area High School
 2001  Pam Goucher  Freeport Middle School
 2002  Francine Aley  Boothbay Harbour High School
 2003  Deborah Locke  Westbrook High School
 2004  Kathy Foss  
 2005  Kelley McDaniel  King Middle School
 2006  Mary Moore  Freeport High School
 2007  Nancy Grant  Penquis Valley
 2008  Betsy York  Central Aroostook High School
 2009  Debbie Gahm  Lake Region High School
 2010 & 11

 No award given

 2012  Fred Weinberg  Mt. Ararat High School
 2013  Joanna Bachelder  Halldale Middle High School


Copyright © 2012  Maine Association of School Libraries

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software